The stadium was officially inaugurated on 4 March 2008, and was briefly the home ground for IPL team Mumbai Indians. It hosted 3 IPL matches for the Mumbai Indians and has also hosted the 2008 Indian Premier League Final and 2010 Indian Premier League Final.

The capacity of 45,000 makes it the ninth largest cricket ground in India. The stadium makes use of bucket seats and cantilever roofs that eliminate the need for columns. It is the largest sports venue by capacity in Mumbai.

Navi Mumbai shot to fame when the much-talked about Indian Premier League’s (IPL) first and third edition finale was held at  D Y Patil Sports Stadium in 2008 and 2010 along with 7 matches in 2011.

IPL 2008

D Y Patil Stadium hosted 4 matches in the debut season of the Indian Premier League including an exhilarating finale. The DY Patil Stadium’s capacity (55,000) is one of the reasons it was a front- runner to host the final

IPL 2010

In IPL 2010, the stadium hosted 6 matches including the opening match, the semi-finals, the 3rd place playoff and the final.

IPL 2011

A total of seven matches were played at D Y Patil Stadium in the 4th edition of the Indian Premier League. Navi Mumbai stadium was chosen as the home ground for newly inducted IPL Franchise of Pune Warriors.

Mumbaikars and Navi Mumbaikars along with cricket lovers from around the world flocked together to view the  matches at the stadium. The 45,000-capacity stadium saw a jam-packed crowd who enthralled in the cricket festivities.


Leave a Reply