Cricket Comes Alive Once Again! 16th D Y Patil T20 Series


The stadium was filled with the echo of this chant. Thousands of people cheered ecstatically for their favorite players and teams. The series witnessed millions of people following the game online from the comfort of their houses. The 16th Edition of the D Y Patil series was unlike any of the ones before. With seat clutching action, an unexpected turn of overs and unbelievable cricket action, the series was a hit! D Y Patil T20 series is no longer just a game but has transformed into a platform for young aspiring cricketers to achieve their dreams. A place where heroes became champions.



Since the inception of T20 cricket at D Y Patil Stadium, the game has garnered a huge audience. Another reason for the huge fan following has also been the star players – Suryakumar Yadav, Abhishek Sharma, Hardik Pandya, Naman Ojha, Pragyan Ojha, Dinesh Karthik, Shreyas Iyer, Asad Pathan Khan, Jay Bista, Shikhar Dhawan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Lakhan, etc participating in the series and making the DY Patil T20 series even more enthralling than before. 

The 12 days T20 series saw impeccable batting prowess along with some mind-blowing bowling by not only cricket legends but also new budding cricketers. Although the spotlight of the series was clearly on Hardik Pandya as he returned to the game after a long 6 months break. Clearly, the break did miracles because Hardik was back in action better than before, if that’s even possible. The guy was unbeatable. A phenomenal score of 158 runs off just 55 balls with the help of 20 sixes, 6 fours, and 14 runs. Though he led Reliance One all the way to Finals, the team wasn’t victorious and sadly faced a loss against Indian Oil by a mere 12 runs. Nonetheless, he still won many hearts. 



The action-packed series of 31 league matches saw an amazing battle of the wills between 14 teams that fought tirelessly for the glorious D Y Patil T20 Trophy. Countless sixes and fours along with some outstanding centuries led to a thrilling series.  



The Finals had the colossal stadium packed in no time, the crowd divided into two as they supported their favorite finalists. A nail-biting match between Reliance One and Indian Oil kept the audience glued to their seats throughout the finale as each team captivated the fans with their brilliant on-field performances. For the first time in the history of the D Y Patil T20 series, Indian Oil emerged as the Champions and took the shining trophy home.


Watch our Facebook and Instagram pages to know more about the D Y Patil T20 series and several other sports updates.


Leave a Reply